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Jefferson County PVA Office; 531 Court Place, Suite 504; Louisville, KY 40202-3311
Phone: (502) 574-6380 Office Hours: Weekdays 8am-4pm Website: www.jeffersonpva.ky.gov

County Date Submitted

Application is hereby made for the homestead exemption provided by Section 170 of the Kentucky Constitution.

1. Name(s) of owner-applicant(s) in whose name(s) title is vested:

2. Name of applicant(s) Date of birth Age Sex Relationship to other occupants

[0 Husband [ Wife [ Other
[0 Husband [ Wife [ Other
[0 Husband O Wife [ Other

3. Address of residence
Phone number
E-mail address
Parcel 1D (if known)

4. Type of residential unit: [ single family residence [0 duplex O apartment building O mobile home [0 condominium
LI(describe)

5. Type of ownership: [ fee simple [ equitable title [ jointly with survivorship U jointly in common [ by stock ownership
or membership representing the owner’s or member’s proprietary interest in a multi-family structure

6. Amount of exemption: If ownership is fee simple, equitable title, jointly with survivorship or jointly in common, applicant
receives full exemption or up to the assessed value of his interest in the property, whichever is less.

If ownership is by stock ownership or membership, the amount of exemption is full exemption or the percentage that the
applicant’s ownership bears to the total value of the property. (Example: Total value of the structure = $50,000; applicant’s stock
ownership — 10%; exemption limit = $5,000.)

AFFIDAVIT AND OATH

I (we), /

(Applicant) (Spouse)
hereby swear (affirm) under penalty of perjury that I (we) am (are) the owner(s) of the property for which this assessment exemption
is sought; that | (we) occupy and maintain this residential unit as my (our) primary residence; that I, the applicant, am 65 years of
age or over, or totally disabled; and further that | (we) have not applied for nor receive a homestead exemption on any other property |
(we) may own in Kentucky or any other state and that all information contained in this application is true and correct.

Signature of Applicant Date

Signature of Spouse Date

RESERVED FOR OFFICIAL USE
This application is [0 approved [ disapproved

Property Valuation Administrator Date
(See Explanation on Reverse)



EXPLANATION

To apply for the homestead exemption, this application-affidavit must be submitted during the year in which exemption is sought
for residential property located in Jefferson County to the Jefferson County Property Valuation Administrator’s Office (JCPVA).
Once approved, annual reapplication is not required.

Applicants seeking the homestead exemption under the disability provision must file this application-affidavit by December 31°
of the year in which exemption is sought. Under KRS 132.810 (effective 1/1/2012) those applying under the disability
provision are required to document their disability only at the time of initial application. Once approved, annual
reapplication is not required. However, applicants are required to report any change in their disability classification to
the JCPVA. Failure to do so could result in back taxes, penalties and interest for any back years an applicant did not
legally qualify for the exemption.

What does homestead exemption mean?

Under the provisions of the Homestead Amendment, a person or persons must be 65 years of age or older or totally disabled
during the year for which application is made, and must own, occupy and maintain a residential unit for such exemption. Only
1 exemption per residence is allowed. Applicants must not have applied for nor received a homestead exemption on any other
property they may own in Kentucky or any other state other than their primary legal residence for which application is made.

Age Requirement

A person or persons owning, living in and maintaining a residential unit must meet the 65 years of age requirement. If only one
spouse is 65, the age requirement is met.

Verification of Age & Jefferson County Residence

A person must own and occupy the property for which exemption is sought as his or her Primary Residence. A Primary
Residence is a person’s fixed permanent or principal home for legal, voting and tax purposes. Date of birth of the applicant(s)
and proof of Jefferson County residence can be verified by submitting a copy of one of the following forms of identification:

1. Valid Jefferson County Driver’s License issued by the Jefferson County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office.
2. Valid Personal ID Card issued by the Jefferson County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office. The address shown on the card
must match the address of residence for which application is made.

Or, if the applicant(s) date of birth is substantiated by providing a copy of one of the secondary sources listed below, the
applicant(s) must also provide a copy of his or her current Voter ID Card issued by the Louisville/Jefferson County Election
Center as proof of his or her Jefferson County Residence. The address shown on the card must match the address of residence for
which application is made.

1. Red, White & Blue Medicare Card issued 4. Census Records
by Social Security 5. Insurance Policies

2. Birth Certificate or Birth Registration 6. Marriage Records

3. Confirmation or Baptismal Records 7. School Records

Disability Requirements

A person must be classified as totally disabled under a program authorized or administered by an agency of the United States
government or by any retirement system either within or without the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Applicants must document
their disability with a copy of their award letter from their retirement system that declares the date they became eligible for
disability benefits. Applicants must also document their date of birth and primary residence for which application is made. To be
eligible, applicants must have maintained their disability classification and received disability payments under such classification
for the entire year.

KRS 132.810(2) (h) provides, “When title to property which is exempted, either in whole or in part, under the homestead
exemption is transferred, the owner, administrator, executor, trustee, guardian, conservator, curator or agent shall report such
transfer to the property valuation administrator.”

Fraudulent Misrepresentations

Under the provisions of KRS 132.990(1), “Any person who willfully fails to supply the property valuation administrator or the
Department of Revenue with a complete list of his property and such facts with regard thereto as may be required or who violates
any of the provisions of KRS 132.570 shall be fined not more that five hundred dollars ($500).”
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