## **Mail Completed Application to:**

Colleen Younger Property Valuation Administrator Glassworks Building 815 W. Market Street, Suite 400 Louisville, KY 40202-2654

Phone: (502) 574-6380 Website: www.jeffersonpva.ky.gov Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8am-4pm

# Kentucky

Commonwealth of Kentucky
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

62A350 (092019 JC)

# APPLICATION FOR EXEMPTION UNDER THE HOMESTEAD/DISABILITY AMENDMENT (Explanation on Reverse Side)

County	y <u>JEFFERSON</u>	(EMPIE			Date Submitted	
Applic	eation is hereby made for the homesto	ead exemption provided	l by Section 1	70 of the Ke	entucky Constitution.	
1. Na	ame(s) of owner-applicant(s) in who	se name(s) title is veste	d:			
_						
2. Na	ame of applicant(s)	Date of birth	Age	Sex	Relationship to other occupant  ☐ Husband ☐ Wife ☐	
_					☐ Husband ☐ Wife ☐ ☐ Husband ☐ Wife ☐	Other
Ph	ddress of residence					
E- Pa	mail address arcel ID (if known)					<u> </u>
4. <b>Ha</b>	we you applied for, or are you received no If "yes", where?	=	=		tion, county, or state?	
	Type of residential unit: □ single-family residence □ duplex □ apartment building □ mobile home □ condominium □ other (describe)					
6. Type of ownership: ☐ fee simple ☐ equitable title ☐ jointly with survivorship ☐ jointly in common ☐ by stock ownership representing the owner's or member's proprietary interest in a multi-family structure						vnership or membership
ex ar	<b>lote</b> : Amount of exemption: If owner exemption, or up to the assessed value mount of exemption is full exemption alue of the structure = \$50,000; applied to the structure =	of his interest in the property or the percentage that	roperty, which the applicant	ever is less. 's ownership	If ownership is by stock ownership bears to the total value of the pro-	ip or membership, the
			AFFIDAVIT	AND OAT	Н	
I (we),	(Applicant)	/		(Spe	ouse)	
(we) of	v swear (affirm) under penalty of per ccupy and maintain this residential rethat I (we) have not applied for nor l information contained in this applied	unit as my (our) <b>prima</b> receive a homestead e	ry residence; t xemption on a	of the prophat I, the ap	perty for which this assessment explicant, am 65 years of age or over	r, or totally disabled; and
_	Signature of Applica	nt			Date	
	Signature of Spouse				Date	
		RESER	VED FOR OI	FFICIAL U	SE	
This	s application is $\square$ approved $\square$ dis	approved		Property	Valuation Administrator	Date
				TIOPOLLY	·	Dure

#### **EXPLANATION**

1. To apply for the homestead exemption, this application-affidavit must be submitted during the year in which exemption is sought for residential property located in Jefferson County to the Jefferson County Property Valuation Administrator's Office (JCPVA). Once approved, annual reapplication is not required.

Applicants seeking the homestead exemption under the disability provision must file this application-affidavit by December 31<sup>st</sup> of the year in which exemption is sought. Under KRS 132.810(4)(b) applicants are required to report any change in their disability classification to the JCPVA. Failure to do so could result in delinquent tax liabilities for any years an applicant did not legally qualify for the exemption.

#### 2. What does *homestead exemption* mean?

Under the provisions of the Homestead Amendment, a person or persons must be 65 years of age or older or totally disabled during the year for which application is made, and must own, occupy and maintain a residential unit for such exemption. Only 1 exemption per residence is allowed. Applicants must not have applied for nor received a homestead exemption on any other property they may own in Kentucky or any other state other than their primary legal residence for which application is made.

#### 3. Age Requirement

A person or persons owning, living in and maintaining a residential unit must meet the 65 years of age requirement. If only one spouse is 65, the age requirement is met.

## 4. Verification of Age & Jefferson County Residence

A person must own and occupy the property for which exemption is sought as his or her <u>Primary Residence</u>. A Primary Residence is a person's fixed permanent or principal home for legal, voting and tax purposes. Date of birth of the applicant(s) and proof of Jefferson County residence can be verified by submitting a copy of one of the following forms of identification:

- 1. Valid Jefferson County Driver's License or Real ID issued by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.
- 2. Valid Personal ID Card issued by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.

# The address shown on the Driver's License or Personal ID Card must match the address of residence for which application is made.

If obtaining one of the above forms of identification presents an undue hardship due to disability and/or advanced age, an applicant may provide a copy of their birth certificate along with a copy of their voter registration card to verify the age and primary residence requirements.

## 5. Disability Requirements

A person must be classified as totally disabled under a program authorized or administered by an agency of the United States government or by any retirement system either within or without the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Applicants must document their disability with a copy of their award letter from their retirement system that declares the date they became eligible for disability benefits. Applicants must also document their date of birth and primary residence for which application is made. To be eligible, applicants must have maintained their disability classification and received disability payments under such classification for the entire year.

6. KRS 132.810(2) (h) provides, "When title to property which is exempted, either in whole or in part, under the homestead exemption is transferred, the owner, administrator, executor, trustee, guardian, conservator, curator or agent shall report such transfer to the property valuation administrator."

# 7. Fraudulent Misrepresentations

Under the provisions of KRS 132.990(1), "Any person who willfully fails to supply the property valuation administrator or the Department of Revenue with a complete list of his property and such facts with regard thereto as may be required or who violates any of the provisions of KRS 132.570 shall be fined not more that five hundred dollars (\$500)."