Satellite Cities are now listed as Home Rule Cities

Satellite Cities are now listed as Home Rule Cities.

Classifcation Structure Since 2015

One of the top legislative priorities for the Kentucky League of Cities in 2014 was approved by the General Assembly through the passage of House Bill 331, which was KLC’s initiative to reform the classification system. As of January 1, 2015, the arbitrary classification system with six classifications changed to two classes: first class (Louisville) and home rule cities (all other cities). Lexington is a home rule city but maintains all responsibilities and privileges under its urban county statutes. Louisville will continue to exercise the powers of the first class city by virtue of being a consolidated local government.